Turkish Language

Same as Hungarian and Finnish, Turkish belongs to Ural-Altaic language family in Altay branch. It is spoken in the Republic of Turkey and Central Asia. Turkish has different dialects and can be divided into two groups as Western and Eastern dialects. Modern Turkish that is used in official organizations and education is based on Istanbul dialect. Even though Turkish was invaded during Ottoman Empire period, Turkish was still co-existed. But it became the official language of Turkey in 1928 with the “new language movement”. Turkish is agglutinative, and grammatical features are defined by adding suffixes to the words. Latin alphabet is used with some distinctive vowels and consonants like ç,ğ,ş,ı,ö,ü.