Norwegian Language

Norwegian (Norsk), the national language of Norway, is a Scandinavian language and belong to North Germanic language. It has common features with Swedish and Danish. Despite these similarities, there are countless grammatical variations between them. First Norwegian pieces of literature that are found belong to the period between 9th and 14th centuries. After the 14th century, Danish started to be used for official and documentation purposes, and Norwegian continued only as spoken form until 1814 when Norway separated from Denmark. Today, officially there are two written languages: Bokmål and Nynorsk. Norwegian alphabet is Latin script and alike to the Danish alphabet.