Dutch Language

Dutch is mainly spoken by Dutch and Flemish people in Western Europe especially in Netherlands and Belgium. In both countries, the official name is “Nederlands”. However, Dutch has a variety of dialect, and each of them has different names, e.g. Hollands(Hollandic), West-Vlaams (West Flemish). It is a West Germanic language and quite close to the German and English structure. Just like German, the language utilizes three nominal genders. Modern Dutch that is used today has started to be formed from the 15th century and on. During these years, inflectional grammar (e.g., noun suffix, endings) are shortened and simplified.