Czech Language

Czech is the official language of Czech Republic but also spoken in Austria, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Croatia, Poland, Romania and Slovakia. It belongs to Slavic language group and its roots date to 11th century. Slovak and other West Slavic languages are linguistically near to Czech and speakers can understand each other. Unlike English or Romance languages, it is a member of “synthetic” language group but not “analytical”. An ending or modification in the root of the word may define different grammar cases. The alphabet in the Czech language is Latin. However, it includes unique characters such: á, é, í, ó, ú/ů, ý as vowels and ď, ť, ň, ž, š, č, ř as constantans.